#ImAGirlBoss: Katie Krause

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

NAME: KATIE KRAUSE
CITY: LOS ANGELES
HOMETOWN: WESTLAKE VILLAGE, CA
INDUSTRY: TV + DIGITAL MEDIA
SIGN: VIRGO
TWITTER: @Katie_Krause
INSTAGRAM: @_KatieKrause
WEBSITE: KatieKrause.net
BLOG: TheDaysOfKate.tumblr.com

Tell us what you do!

I am an entertainment producer/host at Entertainment Tonight — and I pinch myself every day that I get to say that! I create content, write scripts, and interview rad people like Miley Cyrus and Steve Carell. Sometimes, I’m in the studio producing and hosting, while other days I’m in the field. I book events and interviews, and even write editorial articles. Every single day is different. You wear a multitude of hats with a job like this, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I did! I went to Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, and graduated with a B.A. in Broadcast Journalism and a minor in Spanish.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

How far back are we going here? Ha. When I was around eight years old, I wanted to work with animals, and was ready to study marine biology and become a dolphin trainer. This was clearly in addition to putting on musicals and choreographing dance routines with my siblings (which we forced our parents and parents’ friends to watch), because becoming a pop star at age eight was also an interesting ambition — but I obviously hadn’t heard myself sing at that time. My poor parents — it’s not pretty! But, around the age of 15, I knew without a doubt that I wanted to go into broadcasting, and ended up starting a news show at my high school with my incredible teachers. In fact, the show still exists to this day! We produced news packages and shot/edited our own pieces in addition to anchoring the weekly newscast. I’ve been hooked ever since!

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

Oh man! I know I’m going to leave some stuff out, but here goes nothing!

I knew exactly what I wanted to do in high school, and I had some incredible teachers and mentors to help me along the way. When I went off to college, I knew I had to study broadcast journalism – and AGAIN, was blessed with inspiring, dedicated, and hands-on professors. I still talk to most of them, too! I made sure to get involved with our campus news show during my freshman year, and learned every facet of our university’s morning broadcast from anchoring, directing and producing, to writing, editing, and running the teleprompter. During my junior year, I interned at Entertainment Tonight and The Insider in Los Angeles. It was a dream. Crazy how things come full circle in life.

When I graduated, I had no idea how to turn my dreams into a reality without going the “small market” news station approach. I knew I wanted to focus on entertainment, and decided my best shot was moving back to Los Angeles. Without a clue in the world as to what to do or what steps to take, I accepted a job in PR, because let’s be honest – a job out of school is a job, amiright? After a while, I realized how unhappy I was not pursuing my dreams, and ended up finding a small entertainment website to intern for.

During my time there, I was able to develop the video initiative, and launched a YouTube channel for the company called HollywireTV. My friend, Ruben Garay, and I co-created and developed a YouTube series called The Hollywire Hot Minute – initially called The Hollywood Hot Minute. I re-launched and re-branded the entire website, ran social media, booked interviews and events, and really utilized my time at the company to learn and develop relationships. Eventually, I went from intern to part OWNER of Hollywire in less than three years. From there, I was approached by Clevver Media/Alloy (now Defy Media) to launch a YouTube channel that was part of Google’s $100 million initiative: ClevverNews. I developed, produced, and hosted the original programming, including a weekly series called “Rumor Patrol” alongside my co-host, Deidre Behar. I was so excited about the opportunity that I even took a pay cut, because I was more motivated by the exciting challenge than by the money. For me, this career has never been about the money. It can’t be.

In September of 2014, Deidre and I created/developed/executive produced and hosted a daily show called The Daily Hollywood Rundown. Funny story — our bosses nixed the idea numerous times, but after months of meetings and pleadings, our persistence paid off, and we were granted the chance to build a dream series from the ground up – and really, what more could you ask for?! We did everything from designing the set, naming the segments, and picking out music, to developing the format, pulling assets, and then producing and hosting the show every day. It truly was an incredible learning experience that I’m forever grateful for. The show has since led ClevverNews to over one million subscribers on YouTube, and brings in an average of 150,000-200,000 views per episode — nearly a million a week! I truly still love our show! From there, I freelanced quite a bit before accepting my current position at Entertainment Tonight.

Any obstacles along the way?

A TON. I mean, it’s not a journey without obstacles, right? Dreams never come easy. LA can be a hard city if you don’t surround yourself with the right people. You have to keep a good head on your shoulders, and remain positive even when you feel like your world is crumbling — because it will feel like that sometimes. One specific example? At Hollywire, we had no budget initially, and for the first six months, I worked for free while maintaining part-time jobs on the side to make ends meet.

Another? Well. I think for anyone, when other people take your ideas, or take credit for something you did, it stings a bit. But, like everything else, you just have to find the big lesson in it, learn, and move onward and upward. The key to overcoming any obstacle is to just keep going and to continue giving it your best. Bad things happen, but don’t let those things define you, hinder you, or hurt your soul.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Who is your idol?

Not sure I have any idols, per se. But I love, love, love KELLY RIPA. And Oprah. And Ellen. But yea, Kelly Ripa is the coolest.

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

I feel weird answering this!! Hmmm… PERSERVERANCE. Faith. Positivity. Creativity. (That’s four, sorry!)

Where would you like to be in five years?

In five years? Oh man. I would LOVE to be on a talk show. I’ve always dreamt of being a host/producer of a show like The View, but for a younger demographic – a show that tackles issues that guys and girls in high school or out of college and beyond need/want to know about — of course with a fun celebrity/entertainment spin. A TRL meets The View type program. Would you watch?!

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A Girl Boss is SO many things. Let’s see if I can give this a shot. A Girl Boss chases her dreams. A Girl Boss is loving and kind, and has a heart full of gratitude for each and every opportunity she has. A Girl Boss empowers other women rather than views them as competition. A Girl Boss knows that the sleepless nights and the blood, sweat, and tears that come with pursuing a dream are not only part of the journey – but that those hurdles make the journey worth it. A Girl Boss knows what’s worth sacrificing and what isn’t. A Girl Boss doesn’t wait for things to happen or for people to hand her things, but goes after them, and makes things happen herself. A Girl Boss is constantly learning and trying to improve. A Girl Boss always goes the extra mile. A Girl Boss stands up for what is right, even when others are too afraid to do so. A Girl Boss has a creative vision, and the ability to predict trends before they become the norm. A Girl Boss can wear a multitude of hats and does so without complaining. A Girl Boss always gets back up when she falls down, and holds her head up high. A Girl Boss isn’t afraid to jump or take a risk. A Girl Boss follows her heart but makes sure to use her brain too. A Girl Boss isn’t just self-serving, but cares about those around her. A Girl Boss is filled with passion and ambition. A Girl Boss has an unquestionable faith in her journey and in herself. Every girl has the ability to be a Girl Boss.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

I’m all over the place, ahh! Sometimes I’m the ultimate girly-girl in a floral sun dress, while other days I feel like my best self in jeans, combat boots, and a tee or some booties and a fedora. Sometimes I just want to wear an oversized sweatshirt, and wrap myself up in a plethora of blankets, so that I’m cloaked like Voldemort or The Queen from Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs whilst lounging on my couch with some pizza and wine. Stylish, I know. But on other nights I want to paint the town red with my friends in some fierce colorful lipstick, tight jeans, and stilettos. I guess it depends on the day?! Whatever I’m comfortable in at that moment?! Does that count?

Recycled-Novelty-#ImAGirlBoss-Katie-Krause-Host-Producer-Entertainment-Tonight-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-3

Favorite brand right now?

ALWAYS J Brand jeans, and I recently found the cutest dresses from TopShop

Go-to clothing item/accessory right now?

Always a chic leather jacket. I have a studded one from TopShop that I always throw on over a cute dress, or pair with grey jeans and a tee.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

“Angel” lipstick by Mac. And MASCARA. MASCARA. MASCARA. I am also obsessed with seven second leave-in conditioner by Unite, because Lord knows my hair needs conditioning! Also, coconut oil. Lather that stuff allll over your face – it will rejuvenate your skin!

Go-to nail color?

Right now, I’m rocking Bikini So Teeny by Essie

Coffee order?

Non-fat double dirty iced chai! Or, sugar-free vanilla soy latte. I’m one of those girls….. #basic, I know!

What makes you feel beautiful?

Honestly, no amount of makeup or clothing or anything like that makes me feel beautiful — although I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel fab after a blow-out. But I feel beautiful when I’m happy and content, and doing something I love, like spending time with my family, having a wacky dance party with friends, or playing with dogs. I know it’s cheesy, but I feel most beautiful when I’m smiling; when I’m genuinely happy.

Recycled-Novelty-#ImAGirlBoss-Katie-Krause-Host-Producer-Entertainment-Tonight-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-4

What makes you feel badass?

Doing the things people think I can’t. Proving people wrong when they underestimate me. And hmmmm… hiking to the top of a mountain, and just standing there and overlooking the city below. Such. A. Good. Feeling.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

I liked Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed. Also going to throw out Dr. Seuss’s Oh, The Places You’ll Go, andddddd the entire Harry Potter series, because the fact JK Rowling could even envision that entire magical world, and then so eloquently and perfectly bring it to life is inspiring in and of itself.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

I’m obsessed with Taylor Swift. Does that count? Also, cookie butter from Trader Joe’s — talk about heaven on a spoon. They also have cookie butter ice cream now, and it tastes like Christmas in my mouth. It’s a problem.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I love so much music. Right now, though? The 1975, Halsey, Andrew McMahon (everything he does is perfect), Sam Smith, Ella Henderson, Marina and the Diamonds, Betty Who, and this band called Pvris, and of course, TAYLOR SWIFT, because every lyric off 1989 speaks to my soul. Also loving Fifth Harmony’s new album — it’s so fun!

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

I want to say “Shake It Off” but how cliché is that?!? Also, “Ain’t It Fun” by Paramore!

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

I have so many! 

“Instead, pursue the things you love doing, and then do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off you.” – Maya Angelou

“I want to be around people that do things. I don’t want to be around people anymore that judge or talk about what people do. I want to be around people that dream and support and do things.” – Amy Poehler

Jeremiah 29:11 is everything to me. “For I know the plans I have for you. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Recycled-Novelty-#ImAGirlBoss-Katie-Krause-Host-Producer-Entertainment-Tonight-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-5

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

My mom has always been my biggest supporter. She’s seen everything — the lowest lows and the highest highs. She just tells me to be my true, authentic self when it comes to work and life in general, and to do things from my heart. She also always reminds me that nothing is ever as bad as it seems in the moment.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Don’t be afraid to take some risks and TRY. Always fight for what you believe in, and know that with passion and talent comes criticism and people who will tell you that you can’t do things. Just keep going! Lift one another up, because the world needs more women empowering women. Be a light. Remember that the moment you’re about to give up is the moment you’re closer to your dreams than you realize. Remember to reflect. Often we get so caught up on what we don’t have or what we haven’t achieved that we fail to realize what we do have, what we have accomplished and how far we’ve come. Have some faith. Trust your gut. And be nice.

What's on your mind?

