#ImAGirlBoss: Angelique Velez

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Angelique-Velez-Breakups-to-Makeup-Founder-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-1

NAME: ANGELIQUE VELEZ
CITY:NEW YORK
HOMETOWN: MEDFORD, NY
INDUSTRY: BEAUTY + FASHION 
SIGN: TAURUS 
TWITTER: @angeliquemakeup + @breakups2makeup
INSTAGRAM: @angeliquemakeup + @breakupstomakeup
WEBSITES: angeliquevelez.com + www.breakupstomakeup.com

Tell us what you do!

I am a freelance makeup artist, as well as the CEO & Founder of Breakups to Makeup, which is an accessory brand for beauty lovers and enthusiasts.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Yes, I have a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology with a minor in Education from the University of Miami and a Master’s in Creative Art Therapy from Hofstra University.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”? (i.e. movie star, doctor, unicorn, etc…)

I wanted to be a dancer on In Living Color. (That was when I actually thought I could dance.)

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

It’s been a bit of a journey, but I started doing makeup right after graduating from college. I have always had a love for it, but never really applied it on anyone other than myself. After graduating from college at a time when it was difficult for just about anyone to find a job, I decided to move back home to New York, and was able to find a job at a local makeup counter. It was the only thing I could find at the time, but I instantly fell in love with makeup. There was a time while I was attaining my Master’s degree when I was literally working seven days a week, because I knew that I wanted to build a decent portfolio, and eventually, freelance. After attaining a full time job at one of the first makeup schools in New York City, I thought that I had achieved what I wanted. I was not only counseling students in a career that I loved, but I was networking and still involved in the industry. Little did I know that my artistic side would take control, and there came a time where I had to decide if I was ready to leave the comforting 9-5 world with health insurance and benefits to pursue my dreams of freelancing and becoming an entrepreneur. Through a lot of back and forth and contemplating, I decided to choose the latter, and the rest is history. I was picked up by an agency in NYC, and also began teaching at Chic Studios NYC. I was able to combine my love for makeup with my educational background and have never been happier.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Angelique-Velez-Breakups-to-Makeup-Founder-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-2

Any obstacles along the way?

LOL, there were so many obstacles. But the biggest, I have to admit, is what fostered my brand Breakups to Makeup. Going through a major breakup, like many can relate to, left me feeling completely empty and lost. Makeup was the reason I kept going. It was literally the reason why I got out of bed in the morning — to make others happy. It helped me find myself again.

Who is your idol?

I have SO many idols, but my biggest is my mother. She is my hugest inspiration, and is the reason why I am the woman I am today. She taught me to never give up, and to pursue your dreams, no matter what they are. She is also one of my biggest supporters.

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

It’s hard to limit it to three, but I would have to say staying humble, believing in myself, and never stop dreaming.

Where would you like to be in five years?

I personally would still love to be freelancing as a makeup artist. As far as my brand, I want Breakups to Makeup to be a known/staple brand in, not only the beauty industry, but in the fashion world as well.

Black Mascara Clutch

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A “Girl Boss” is a woman who isn’t afraid of society’s stereotypes and goes for hers. She is someone who believes in herself, and chases her dreams no matter what.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

My “style” is that I wear what I like, no matter what. I have been this way since high school. If I like it, and I feel it flatters me, I’m wearing it. I’m not really into “trends.” I just like to feel good in my clothes! I like things that are flowy and comfortable. I’m also really into boots! I can shop for them all year long.

Favorite brand right now?

This one is REALLY hard, because I like so many different brands. I’ll answer it in a different way — my dream brand to work with during fashion week would have to be Betsey Johnson. Her clothes are so inspiring, and she takes risks. She is also so humble, and is in this industry because she truly loves it!

Go-to clothing item/accessory right now?

My boom box necklace — you rarely catch me without it. It reminds me of who I am, the time when I grew up, and that fashion always repeats itself.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

It’s hard to pick just one, but I would have to say my DiorShow mascara. Mascara, in general, is something that I can’t live without, but I particularly love this one.

Go-to nail color?

Essie’s “Spin the Bottle.” I wear this on my toes all winter long. As far as my hands, it’s whatever goes. I’ve been mixing colors lately and have been adding glitter.

Coffee order?

Caramel Latte with skim milk and splenda. Hot in the winter, iced in the summer.

What makes you feel beautiful?

It sounds corny, but my boyfriend. The way he looks at me—uggghhh did I just say that?! LOL. 

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

What makes you feel badass?

When I close a deal on something that I didn’t even think was attainable. I make lists for myself, goals for my brand and personal life. So when I actually accomplish one of those goals, I feel real badass; especially when wearing my two-finger ring and sporting my brass knuckles phone case. 

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

I got #GIRLBOSS for Christmas, and am about to start it. So excited! My go-to book for inspiration is Kelly Cutrone’s If You Have to Cry Go Outside.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Oreo cookies and Doritos (regular or cool ranch). If either of these are in my apartment, they will literally be gone in a day!

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

The Weeknd and Drake. I don’t think I would ever be able to do a shoot with either of them — I wouldn’t be able to hold my makeup brush!

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

“Survivor” by Destiny’s Child (don’t judge me). Oh, and for some reason, “Jenny from the Block” by Jennifer Lopez. I want all of the rocks that she’s got! Also Eve’s “Who’s that Girl.” Am I showing my age yet?

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes… the ones who see things differently — they’re not fond of rules. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify, or vilify them, but the only thing you can’t do is ignore them because they change things. They push the human race forward, and while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius, because the ones who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do.” -Steve Jobs 

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

My mother always taught me to believe in myself. There will always be other brands or other makeup artists, but none of them are you [me]. I am constantly second guessing myself or what I want to create, especially for Breakups to Makeup, because I am scared people won’t like it. But she always reminds me to keep going.

Advice to future girl bosses:

YOU are the boss of YOUR life. No one else is or ever can be. Always believe in yourself, and never give up. If there is something you want to do that you can’t stop thinking about, go do it and don’t let anyone ever tell you that you can’t.

What's on your mind?

