#ImAGirlBoss: Marisa Dargahi

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

NAME: MARISA DARGAHI 
AGE: 29
CITY: NEW YORK 
HOMETOWN: NEW YORK 
INDUSTRY: ENTERTAINMENT 
NOMINATED BY: LAUREN OTIS
TWITTER: @MarisaVO
INSTAGRAM: @marisadnyc
WEBSITE: marisavoice.com

Tell us what you do!

Actor, singer, and voiceover artist. 

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Ithaca College, B.F.A. Acting. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?!

I can’t think of a time when I didn’t want to become an actor. A school production of Annie that I saw when I was five sparked my love for the theatre. Still mad that I never got to play that role!

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

The three P’s — Passion, Persistence and Productivity. I also wouldn’t be anywhere without the love and support of my family. And LOTS of training. I started doing school productions at the age of six, and spent my weekends in musical theater workshops and summers at theater camp. This eventually led to me attending LaGuardia High School of Performing Arts, otherwise known as the “Fame” school. I went on to study acting and musical theater at Ithaca College where I was introduced to the idea of being a voiceover artist at a Field Studies panel my senior year. There’s an aspect of the theater/film/TV business that has nothing to do with talent, and what I love about the voiceover industry is that it has nothing to do with what you look like. It also doesn’t really have much to do with what you sound like. To be a successful voiceover artist, it’s all about what you can do with your voice, and, of course, a little bit of luck doesn’t hurt! After graduating college, I took a class with two casting directors, and for some reason, they believed in me. They started calling me in for auditions, and I got really lucky, and ended up booking a national commercial. From there, it snowballed into me signing with a great agency and booking work consistently. It didn’t happen overnight, though. It’s taken me years to get to where I am, and I’m still on this crazy and exciting journey!

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Voiceover-Artist-Marisa-Dargahi-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-5

Any obstacles along the way?

There are obstacles every day. As an actor and voiceover artist, you have to get used to hearing the word “No” on a daily basis. This was hard for me at first, but I’ve learned how to not take things personally. I can’t say there aren’t some “No’s” that really hurt, but over time, you learn to move on and stay positive.

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

I believe that being grateful for what you have allows you to bring in more happiness and success in your life. I don’t take “No” for an answer, and I try to put everything in perspective.

Where would you like to be in five years?!

Professionally, I just want to keep working. I would love to be able to support a family one day as a an actor working in all avenues — voiceover, film, TV, and theatre. Personally, I want to keep having adventures, traveling, enjoying life, and I hope to have a family of my own in five years. Most importantly, I want to feel happy and fulfilled.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A woman that doesn’t take “No” for an answer, and keeps going despite all the obstacles that get in her way.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

I would describe my style as boho chic with a New York edge. Does that even make sense? 

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Fav clothing item/accessory right now? 

Issac Mizrahi leather bag, Chloe + Isabel honeycomb necklace, and my olive fedora hat from Top Shop. 

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?!

My latest beauty product obsessions are Arbonne mascara and the BabylissPro Miracurl. 

Go-to nail color?

Loving lavenders, greys and light blues right now. Essie’s Nice is Nice is one of my favorites.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?!

Turning Pro by Steven Pressfield, Spirit Junkie by Gabby Bernstein, and Daring Greatly by Brene Brown. 

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Definitely chocolate! 

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?!

Blake Mills, Miss Tess and the Talkbacks, Lake Street Dive, and loving the new D’Angelo album!

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss? 

“Masterpiece” by Jessie J. 

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“Those who are certain of the outcome can afford to wait and wait without anxiety.” – A Course in Miracles 

“The secret to finding your passion is to bring passion to everything you do.” – Marie Forleo

“In the end, only three things matter: how much you loved, how gently you lived, and how gracefully you let go of things not meant for you.” – Buddha

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you? 

Not exactly sure where I heard it, but it’s advice I live by — look at every obstacle as an opportunity. 

Advice to future girl bosses: 

You are exactly where you need to be.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

What's on your mind?

