#ImAGirlBoss: Aurielle Sayeh

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

NAME: AURIELLE SAYEH 
AGE: 29
CITY: PARIS + NEW YORK
HOMETOWN: ATLANTA
INDUSTRY: ONLINE EDITORIAL + RADIO 
SIGN: CANCER
NOMINATED BY: CHRISTINA ZAYAS
TWITTER: @auriellesayeh
INSTAGRAM: @Auriellesayeh
WEBSITE: AurielleSayeh.com

Tell us what you do!

I’m a model turned blogger/DJ/radio host. I also do creative direction, branding, and writing.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Georgia State. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I remember always telling my dad that I wanted to be an artist. Thanks to my mom, I was always allowed to be artistic. I did dance when I was young for many years, played the piano, and, when I got to high school, I got into sports and singing. I knew from a young age that I wanted to be creative, but I was too young to know what that meant. My dad — being an old fashioned dad — always warned me that “artists don’t make any money.” That being said, it’s a huge sacrifice to go after an artistic career. It’s rewarding for the soul, and mind… but takes a long time to pay off. But if you’re good, and you sharpen your tools, it will.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Aurielle-Sayeh-Model-DJ-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-4

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I did things the way most people do — I worked hard to get to where I am now.

Any obstacles along the way?

Of course. It’s been years of trial and error to get to where I am now; to feel comfortable expressing myself in different ways artistically, and to find a way to make money off of it. I find that the older I get, the more things become clearer.

Who is your idol?

I really look up to the writer, Anais Nin, and the entertainer, Josephine Baker. I really identify with them for moving to Paris as Americans, and being inspired by the lifestyle and culture.

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

Determination: I never take No for an answer when I really want something. If I get No for an answer, I try again, or I prove why I am worthy.
Selflessness: I tend to worry a lot about other people and helping. I don’t have much to give, but I definitely believe in sharing what I do have with my family, or helping people when I can. I believe this always comes back around. Without the help of others, I wouldn’t be where I am now.
Confidence: This is a little tricky, and it comes and goes, but is very important. I believe in myself. I believe in my work. I am confident. Sure — I’ve had bad, dark days but I guess those days help me, too.

Where would you like to be in five years?

I will own my own business, and be in the same line of work. It’s something I am developing now. I am trying to take my time preparing for it, because I really want it to be successful. I hope to also have developed more of a personal life — boyfriend, husband, home, maybe even a pregnancy by then.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A GB is a WOMAN who can do anything a man is doing, but with grace and style. A GB is a balanced woman at the top of her field.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

I am pretty easy going. I love simplicity and comfort.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Aurielle-Sayeh-Model-DJ-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-2

Favorite brand right now?

Off white.

Go-to clothing item/accessory right now?

My burberry trench coat and my Nike flyknits.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Right now, my DAILE moisturizer and my Glossier Balm Dotcom. 

Go-to nail color?

Clear, nude, or red. Mostly clear, because I chip my nails so easy.

Coffee order?

Tall soy latte.

What makes you feel beautiful?

When I am happy and rested. I am usually most happy when the people I love are happy, and when I am working.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Aurielle-Sayeh-Model-DJ-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-7

What makes you feel badass?

Being able to take care of problems and people that I love.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

I am inspired by the stories of the underdogs. I hope to be able to have a huge success story one day, and inspire people with my own personal story. I am inspired by people who beat all of the odds.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Well, I spent six years living in LA, and to be honest, I have high anxiety problems, so I saw a doctor, and got my medical marijuana card. I think marijuana (if used properly) is a very great alternative to prescription drugs.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I really love Nicki Minaj’s new album The Pinkprint and Rae Sremmurd. 

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

“Rhiannon” by Fleetwood Mac.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“Because she competes with no one, no one can compete with her.”- Lao Tzu

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

I often have a hard time taking advice from people. I’ve had a really hard personal and family life, so I have chosen to let mistakes guide my way. I believe that struggle and hardships are a way of making us understand our blessings, appreciate what we have, and work harder to have more. It also allows us to put ourselves in others shoes. All in all, I try to live life that way. When I was younger, I had a hard time speaking up for myself, and would let my feelings get hurt a lot. As an adult, I still have those problems from time to time. I have learned to cut people off that don’t match my character or moral code. People show you who they are if you watch and listen. It’s up to you to allow them to mistreat you.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Aurielle-Sayeh-Model-DJ-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-9

Advice to future girl bosses:

Take your time. Explore. You can try everything. You can be good at more than one thing. Your experiences become your skill sets. Whether you begin as a barista or waitress like I did — and years later, become a model/DJ or a businesswoman — all things are relatable. Use them.

My advice to younger future girl bosses:

Family first. I think the youth of today wastes a lot of time in their younger years on friendships that might not necessarily last. I know I did. You never know what or WHERE your life might bring you. I’m from a small town with little opportunity, so I had to leave to discover myself and my path. I am often away from my family for months at a time. My grandpa is sick, my mom is sick, my dad is getting older. I have young nieces and nephews. It’s not easy. I know people living in the same towns as their families that see them as often as I see mine. This is something you cherish as you grow older, but by then, you could lose a lot of time with the people you love the most.

What's on your mind?

