#ImAGirlBoss: Jenny Rey

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Jenny-Rey-Hairstylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-1

NAME: JENNY REY
AGE: 30
CITY: NYC + MIAMI
HOMETOWN: MIAMI 
INDUSTRY: HAIR + BEAUTY 
SIGN: SCORPIO 
TWITTER: @JennyReyHair
INSTAGRAM: @JennyReyHair

Tell us what you do!

I’ve been doing hair for 10+ years. I’m a senior colorist + hairstylist at IGK in NYC and Miami. I Specialize in balayage technique, blondes, and all those fun pastel colors you’ve seen come into action lately. My haircuts usually consist of an effortless beachy, natural look.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I studied Marine Biology at the University of Miami. Complete opposite of my career these days.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I grew up surfing, so my love for marine life turned into studying Marine Biology. 

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I had an epiphany during my third year of college, and decided I needed to truly discover myself. So I packed my bags, and moved to NYC for three years. I got offered a job assisting at Bumble and Bumble Salon, and that’s where my passion began.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Jenny-Rey-Hairstylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-3

Any obstacles along the way?

Many. But I’ve been very lucky throughout my career. At 22, I became Mickey Rourke’s hairstylist for The Wrestler, which basically rebooted his career, and opened many doors for mine.

Who is your idol?

Elvis Presley. The man made the definition of cool. 

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

I’ve always stayed humble and kind to others, but I’m still a hustling strong woman as well. I never get comfortable; always strive for more. I give myself training to learn new techniques every year to stay up-to-date with fashion hair trends.

Where would you like to be in five years?

Doing exactly what I’m doing, but expanding over to the west coast.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

For me, it’s a new word for feminism; a woman that holds all the cards and them some. You own it 200%. 

Describe your style/fashion sense:

I’m definitely the true definition of an androgynous tomboy with an added swag of rock and roll. Never leave home without one of my signature hats.

Favorite brand right now?

Alexander Wang and Isabella Marant. 

Go-to clothing item/accessory right now?

You can probably find the hashtag on Instagram #jennyreyhats — I’m always wearing a hat. My collection of hats exceeds shoes.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Jenny-Rey-Hairstylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-6

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

LUSH Ro’s Argan body butter and Mario Badescu vitamin C serum. 

Go-to nail color?

Nude.

Coffee order?

I’m half Cuban, so I love my cortaditos. 

What makes you feel beautiful?

I would say the fact that I don’t wear make up ever, and my sense of living, thanks to my parents. In Spanish culture, you celebrate life everyday. So I make it a point to always appreciate everything and everyone I have in my life.

What makes you feel badass?

My work ethic. Serious workaholic. But if you love what you do, it’s not work — it’s a passion.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

When I first read Elvis Presley’s autobiography, his life was very similar to mine. He was the weird kid with great style, and didn’t fit in anywhere until he found his talent. He came from a poor family, but his parents made sure he had it all.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Tequila and reality TV.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Jenny-Rey-Hairstylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-5

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I LOVE BANKS And DJ Flume. 

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

“Goddess” by BANKS. 

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“You’ve got to know your limitations. I don’t know what your limitations are. I found out what mine were when I was 12. I found out that there weren’t too many limitations if I did it my way.” – Johnny “JR” Cash

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

No matter how successful you become, stay humble. There is no better quality in a successful person than that. My mentor and best friend, Franck Izquierdo, gave me that advice. 

Advice to future girl bosses:

Whatever your intuition is about whatever you’re doing right that moment — follow it. People want you to succeed, but not above them. Remember, no one tells a boss what to do. 

What's on your mind?

