MODEL MODE: Ariel Beesley

Recycled-Novelty-Model-Mode-Ariel-Beesley-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young

She struts and strums. And we totally want her to be our BFF.

NAME: ARIEL BEESLEY 
CITY: LOS ANGELES

HOMETOWN: LOS ANGELES 
SIGN: CAPRICORN 
INSTAGRAM: @Arielbees
WEBSITE: Facebook.com/arielbeesley

How did you get into modeling? Were you discovered? Tell us your story!

When I was 17, I was scouted at a hair salon for the salon’s campaign. All the other models on the job had agencies, so after that, I decided to try going to open calls. I probably got rejected from about 16 or 17 in both LA and NY before I walked into Wilhelmina, and walked out with a contract!

Who have you modeled for thus far?

I’ve done campaigns for Genetic Denim, Sister Jane, Paul Frank, Amilta, Apple, Smart Car, and Brian Lichtenberg. I’ve worked for magazines such as Nylon, Oyster, Flaunt, and Seventeen. It’s been a whirlwind!!

Best photo shoot you’ve ever done?

That’s a really hard question, because most shoots have been with really fun, amazing teams. But the first one that comes to mind was probably the two day campaign shoot for Genetic Denim. I appreciated it because every model there was also an artist. There were singers, painters, writers, etc. I, for one, brought my ukulele, and ended up playing the art director’s wedding a few months later! Definitely a memorable one.

You’re also quite the musician. How/where do you write?

I used to only be able to write by myself in my room with the door closed. But lately, I’ve been recording in the studio, and doing co-writing sessions with different artists and producers. That’s really helped me get out of my comfort zone, and really be able to write anywhere, anytime!

If you could hop in a recording studio with anyone TOMORROW, who would it be?

Definitely The Velvet Underground or Sia.

Do you feel like music and modeling compliment each other?

Yes, definitely. For me, music and modeling have really gone hand-in-hand. When I started to get more modeling jobs, I began bringing my uke to set. More often than not, the photographer would end up using my uke as a prop. So I would not only get shown as a model, but as a musician as well! Last Fashion Week, I did a fashion film with Nylon Magazine, and they decided to use my tune “Tic Toc” as the song. After that, I got emails from different producers and managers, and that’s how I ended up signing my production/management deal with Brightman Music.

Recycled-Novelty-Model-Mode-Ariel-Beesley-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-2

Describe your music style/sound in one word.

Whimsical.

How do you maintain your girlish figure? Any tips?

To be honest… no. I love pizza and burritos, haha.

Who is your idol?

I would say the people in my family are my idols. Growing up with the support to be creative, and with the idea that I could honestly accomplish anything I put my mind to, is something that I am eternally grateful for.

Are you dating?

Been happily taken for 2 1/2 years.

If you could do a shoot with any other model, who would it be?

Mmm… probably Abbey Lee Kershaw. She’s pretty badass.

If you could do a campaign with any brand, what would it be?

Saint Laurent. I really love that Hedi Slimane values musicians, and often puts them in his campaigns, or uses local bands for his runway tunes. Super rad.

Recycled-Novelty-Model-Mode-Ariel-Beesley-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-4

Describe your style/fashion sense:

My style really depends on my mood. Sometimes, I want to be boyish, and I really enjoy a good suit. Other times, I wake up and want to dress like a fairy. It changes everyday!

Favorite brand/line right now?

I recently worked for a London-based Brand called Sister Jane. I absolutely love their new collection. Its super ethereal, and every piece is a work of art. Truly!

Go-to clothing item/accessory?

My leather jacket. I’ve had it since I was six years old. It was a massive, waaay-too-big-for-me jacket then, and now it’s perfectly cropped with three-quarter sleeves. I’m a bit of a clothes hoarder.

Current must-have beauty product?

To be honest, I don’t wear makeup. Probably because I’m incapable of making it look good when I do it myself. But as long as I have moisturizer and lip balm, I’m happy. Oh, but I do love a good red lipstick!

Recycled-Novelty-Model-Mode-Ariel-Beesley-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-7

Go-to nail color?

Because I play ukulele, my nails always get messed up, so I rarely have them done. But I like sparkly nails!

If you could only wear one type of makeup for a shoot (mascara, foundation, lipstick, etc.), what would it be?

Definitely a red lip.

What can’t you live without?

My ukulele and my family/friends.

Coffee order?

Either black or an iced coffee with a dash of milk. 

Go-to Instagram filter?

I like doing no filter, and just upping the brightness a bit.

What makes you feel beautiful?

When I feel happiest. When I am doing something I love, or to be honest, when I put on an outfit I think is super rad! haha

Recycled-Novelty-Model-Mode-Ariel-Beesley-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-3

What makes you feel badass?

Writing a song I’m proud of.

What’s your vice?

Definitely true crime documentaries. I love the cheesy reenactments!

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I’m all over the place with music, but Frank Sinatra will always be my first love.

What’s the theme song to your life right now?

“Happy Together” by The Turtles

What do you do besides modeling & music – for work, play, or hobby?

I’m a writer first and foremost. Poetry is my favorite thing in the world, and I love playing with words.

What would you be doing career-wise if you weren’t a model + musician?

Probably just trying to publish little compilations of poems.

Five year plan?

Man, I can’t even predict what is going to happen in the next week! All I can hope for is that I am happy, and working hard on whatever I am pursuing. And I would like to see the whole world.

What advice would you give to aspiring models + musicians?

Never give up. If you want to do something, and care about it, never let anyone tell you you can’t do it.

Recycled-Novelty-Model-Mode-Ariel-Beesley-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-6

What's on your mind?

