#ImAGirlBoss: Janelle Gutierrez

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

NAME: JANELLE GUTIERREZ 
AGE: 23
CITY: LOS ANGELES 
HOMETOWN: LAGUNA NIGUEL 
INDUSTRY: FASHION 
INSTAGRAM: @changeofpolish
BLOG: changeofpolish.blogspot.com

Tell us what you do!

I currently work for Nasty Gal as their Clientele Supervisor at the flagship store on Melrose Avenue. I oversee all the clients our stylists develop, and help them build the proper relationship to give our Nasty Gal customers a new luxury experience.

Did you go to college?

I graduated from FIDM with a Merchandise Marketing degree.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I discovered my love for fashion when I started high school. It was then that I knew I wanted to become a stylist, and help people with their wardrobe. Before Nasty Gal, I was a stylist, and helped style fashion shows, photo shoots, shopped for clients, etc.

How did you get to where you are now?

In high school, I started taking fashion classes after school. I got an internship with Nordstrom, a job at Forever 21 (because everyone needs to work retail), and promised myself I would go to FIDM and continue networking. After high school, I moved to LA, enrolled at FIDM, and got an internship at a women’s showroom. I started working for LF Stores, and that is where I learned all about how to work with clientele. It was my first job where I really got to show people my talent with clothes. It was also crazy knowing that people would only come to the store to shop with you, and that they truly trust what you have to say. It was very rewarding. After LF, I moved to a more serious styling job. I was a senior stylist for a company called Stylehaus — a members only personal styling service. Stylehaus really opened doors for me — I got to travel, and go to Céline and Lanvin to pull for clients. I met a lot of amazing people, and learned a lot about myself. It was a growing experience.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Any obstacles along the way? 

In every job and internship I’ve ever had, there have been moments where I questioned myself. Am I good enough? Do I know what I’m doing? Am I cut out for this industry? There have been times where things got so hard, and I wasn’t understanding anything, and kept messing up that I told myself I was leaving fashion, and was going to go back to school to do something else. Thank god for my amazing family and friends for always talking some sense back into me. Now, I just get back on my grind, and look back at all my amazing accomplishments. And know that I have a lot more work to accomplish.

Who is your idol?

My dad. I know — cheesy. But it’s true. My dad is an amazing man. Incredibly intelligent, hardest worker I have ever met, and the most loving father and husband. I could write a book on my dad’s accompaniments and what he has taught me and my siblings. Everything I do, I do for him and my mom. He is my biggest fan, and motivates me everyday.

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

Family, confidence, and never taking “No” for answer.

Where would you like to be in five years?

CEO of my own company (that I am slowly building with my sister). Stay tuned to find out more! 

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-girlboss-Janelle-Gutierrez-Nasty-Gal-stylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-46

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A girl with passion, creativity, and ambition. She gets shit done, but still lives life to the fullest. She believes in herself, and never gives up. She also has bad ass style, and thinks everyday should start off with champagne. 😉

Describe your style/fashion sense:

I never know how to answer this question. I don’t put any labels on my style. I honestly just wear whatever the heck I want. Yes, I do look at trends, and love a good street style blog, but overall I just love clothes. If there is anything I can say about my style, it’s that I am not that girly, and I love taking chances. You can never have too many white shirts (I live for white T-shirts and button ups). 

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-girlboss-Janelle-Gutierrez-Nasty-Gal-stylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-4

 

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

My mom just gave me her mink fur coat that is literally as old as me — 23 years old! Its black, hits right above my bum, and it’s pure perfection. I am so that asshole in LA wearing a mink coat in 75 degree weather while grabbing coffee.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

I cannot live without my Le Labo lotion and perfume. It literally rules my life.

Go-to nail color?

I’m always loving a good shade of grey, but I love trying on all colors (expect pink). Never been into pink nail polish.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-girlboss-Janelle-Gutierrez-Nasty-Gal-stylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-5

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

A killer pair of shoes and some wine.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Alt J and Milky Chance are my obsessions right now.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

Any song that gets me movin’ and groovin’! 

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

My older sister has always given me the best advice. I can’t think of anything in specific, but everything we talk about is golden. She is a god. 

Advice to future girl bosses:

Keep pushing, and make sure you are always dressed to kill.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-girlboss-Janelle-Gutierrez-Nasty-Gal-stylist-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-7

What's on your mind?

