#ImAGirlBoss: Rachel Doyle

RachelDoyle

NAME: RACHEL DOYLE 
AGE: 32 
CITY:
 NEW YORK
HOMETOWN: BOSTON, MA –> COMMACK, NY
INDUSTRY: NON-PROFIT + SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP 
NOMINATED BY: LAUREN BERGER
TWITTER: @ggfounder + @glamourgals
INSTAGRAM: @ggfounder + @_glamourgals
WEBSITE: GlamourGals.org

Tell us what you do!

I am the CEO and Founder of GlamourGals.org. “GG” is a not-for-profit that inspires and organizes teen volunteers to provide ongoing companionship and complimentary beauty makeovers to women living in senior homes. #ggmovement

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Yes, Cornell University.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I remember always telling my parents that I didn’t want to just paint the picture that hangs in a gallery — I wanted to be the one who owns the gallery.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I think three things have brought me where I am today. First, surrounding myself with people who are more talented than I am. Second, a lot of hard work and sacrificing my social life in college, because I knew it would pay off in the future. Number three, being open to learning new things and accepting change. There are so many moments when you are building something from nothing, and you just have to “roll” with it.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Rachel-Doyle-Glamour-Gals-Founder-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young

Any obstacles along the way?

Plenty! From funding, to self-doubt, to not having enough time — but I think one of my greatest skills is being a creative problem solver. I love the process that gets you to the solution or next step.

Who is your idol?

I love comedians – they make something that is so hard look so easy. Like Ellen DeGeneres or Chris Rock. But my real idol is my mom. She has a Master’s degree, had a full-time job, and still put dinner on the table every night for the family. She is my hardest working GG volunteer and best friend. She brings practicality to anything that she helps with in order to get the job done, and is a great shopping buddy.

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

Hard work, open-mindedness, and creativity. 

Where would you like to be in five years?

In a happy and comfortable place in life, but ask me in five years for the details.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Lauren-Berger-Cosmopolitan-Magazine-shoot-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

Someone who takes charge, but is confident enough in her self to mentor and invite others into her vision and work, because she knows that can produce much greater results.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

It totally depends on the day and how I am feeling. Sometimes, I am preppy chic and other times more bohemian preppy – I guess I always have a little prep!

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

Clothing Item: A navy blue dress jacket in a quilted fabric, black lapel and pop of hot pink under the collar (best bday gift from my husband – I got to design my own jacket!). 

Accessory: Men’s Irish cap from Old England. It pulls together any outfit, and hides a bad hair day.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Rachel-Doyle-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Mascara.

Go-to nail color?

Lately, nothing. Because I don’t have time to paint and let my nails dry. I hope to change that in 2015, and when I do, usually light pink because it doesn’t show chipping fast.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

Eek — I need to read more, but I love Sunday Styles from the NY Times!

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Bloomingdales! If I could buy groceries there, I would.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Anything Top 40.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

Katy Perry’s Firework. Sometimes you can’t take yourself so serious.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“Only a life lived in the service to others is worth living.” – Albert Einstein

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

Just figure it out, and get it done. Can’t remember exactly who, but I know that this phrase has made it into conversations with Lauren Berger (fellow #girlboss) to my dad!

Advice to future girl bosses:

It’s all about the execution. Everyone has ideas. It is getting the work done after you have set the plan or shared the idea that makes it real.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Rachel-Doyle-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-Yankee-Stadium

Follow Rachel’s #girlboss journey on Twitter + Instagram

One thought on “#ImAGirlBoss: Rachel Doyle

  1. Pingback: #ImAGirlBoss: Allegra Cohen |

What's on your mind?

