#ImAGirlBoss: Alexis Kleinman

"Alexis Kleinman Portrait"Photo via Damon Dahlen

NAME: ALEXIS KLEINMAN 
AGE:24
CITY:
 NEW YORK, NY
HOMETOWN: AVONDALE, PA
INDUSTRY: JOURNALISM
NOMINATED BY: TAYLOR TRUDON
TWITTER: @AlexisKleinman
INSTAGRAM: @Kleinman
WEBSITE: HuffingtonPost.com/Tech

Tell us what you do!

I’m the editor of HuffPost Tech.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I went to Princeton.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I was super into art growing up, constantly drawing, painting and sculpting. I wanted to be an artist.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I stumbled into journalism my freshman year at Princeton. An older Princetonian with whom I had gone to high school was an editor for The Daily Princetonian, the school’s newspaper. I had a super strange first week at school, and she asked me to write about it for a freshman series they were doing. I loved writing the story, and got a positive response from people who read it. From then on, I was hooked. I started writing for The Daily Princetonian every week, eventually developing my own (fake, nonsensical) advice column, and becoming the editor of the paper’s Arts & Culture section. Throughout college, I took as many journalism classes as I could, and had internships in New York every summer at places like Lucky Magazine and The Oxygen Network. After graduation, I got an internship with HuffPost’s Business vertical. After a few months, I moved to Tech, where I’ve been for a few years.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Alexis-Kleinman-Huffington-Post-Tech-Editor-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-4

Any obstacles along the way?

I’m super hard on myself. Thankfully, working on the Internet has forced me to toughen up a lot.

Who is your idol?

Amy Poehler. I’m obsessed with comedy, and I’m an improvisor and comedian myself. Amy is creative, smart, shrewd, and hilarious, all the while maintaining such an air of warmth about her.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Humor, determination, and hard work.

Where would you like to be in five years?

I’d like to be writing cool stories with fun people.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A girl boss is a woman who knows what she wants, and isn’t afraid to work for it and ask for it.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

My style is sort of modern urban preppy.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Alexis-Kleinman-Huffington-Post-Tech-Editor-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-2

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

My grandfather was a jeweler, and lately I’ve been wearing this woven gold ring that he made. I love it.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

I’m obsessed with Clé de Peau foundation. It has just enough coverage without being cakey. Plus, it has a gorgeous sheen that makes your skin just glow.

Go-to nail color?

I’m really into navy blue right now.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

Tina Fey’s Bossypants taught me a lot about how to be a professional, funny, smart woman in the workplace and out in the world.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

My iPhone. It shouldn’t come as a surprise, but as a tech editor, I’m super attached to my phone. One of my goals for 2015 is to stop using my phone right before bed. It’s really bad for you!

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I’m a musical theater girl, and lately I’ve been listening to “Hedwig And The Angry Inch. It gets me amped up.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

“Stronger” by Britney Spears.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“A day without laughter is a day wasted.”
― Nicolas Chamfort

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

My dad always told me “if you’re on time, you’re late.” It’s so important to show others that you value them and one of the easiest ways to do that is by respecting their time. I always try to show up around 10 minutes early to wherever I’m going.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Work hard, but don’t take anything too seriously. A positive attitude is contagious.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Alexis-Kleinman-Huffington-Post-Tech-Editor-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-3Photo via Damon Dahlen

Follow Alexis’s #girlboss journey on Twitter + Instagram

What's on your mind?

