#ImAGirlBoss: Julia Lang

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Julia-M-Lang-JMLJournal-by-Whitney-Young-5

NAME: JULIA MIRIAM LANG
AGE: 28
CITY:
 NEW YORK, NY
HOMETOWN: NEW YORK, NY
INDUSTRY: MANAGEMENT + SOCIAL MEDIA + FASHION 
NOMINATED BY: CHRISTINA ZAYAS
TWITTER: @geeksndfashion
INSTAGRAM: @JuliaMiriamLang
BLOG: JMLjournal.com

Tell us what you do!

I am a shop manager at Bloomingdale’s for Majestic Tees, and I run my own website, JML Journal, which has many upcoming projects.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I was born in Africa and raised in Germany. We have a different system over there. But if we would compare it, then yes, college and university after.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

It changed all the time. Once, a teacher. Then, someone famous (lol). 

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

My story comes from hard work, dedication, and most importantly — guts. I risked everything to move to NYC, and live my dream. I could have either become homeless, or made it. There is so much more to achieve, but the second one happened. Some call it crazy to risk a good life for the hunger of doing great. But, for me, it’s all I want, and I listen to my inner voice more than anything else. You should too.

Edit 2

Any obstacles along the way?

ANY? I can’t even tell you how many. And some were SO BAD that I can’t, and don’t, even want to talk about it. My life is full of up and DOWNS. But it wouldn’t be MY life if it would be any different. It makes me the strong person I am. But it’s definitely not easy at times.

Who is your idol?

My mom, my dad, and my brother. They are the ones teaching me everything!

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Honesty, being brave, and pushing hard. 

Where would you like to be in five years?

Running my own business.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A “Girl Boss” is someone like me (lol) — a female who is independent, strong, smart, and has her shit together, at least when it comes to the business side. Because I kinda suck when it comes to love (or was it just bad luck?). Not sure, but confidence is the key.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Julia-M-Lang-JMLJournal-by-Whitney-Young-3

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Clean. High-End. Sporty.

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

My suede Saint Laurent bag

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Concealer all the way! I tend to have puffy eyes in the morning. Other than that, a peachy lipstick. ☺

Go-to nail color?

Burgundy.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Julia-M-Lang-JMLJournal-by-Whitney-Young-7

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

Same.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Sugar. I have a serious sugar addiction, which I overcome at times, but it’s really hard. Will I ever be a skinny bitch, tho???!! And love — love is my weakness. I would do anything for the right man by my side, which is good and bad.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I love Wynter Gordon. She helped me a lot when I first moved to NYC. Her song “Stimela” inspired me a lot!

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

Ha, WYNTER GORDON – STIMELA! Because she simply is the definition of a #girlboss to me!

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Julia-M-Lang-JMLJournal-by-Whitney-Young-6

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“The strongest people are the most sensitive ones.” 

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

I think that most of the best advice comes from my two best friends, Jane and Marcus, who are both living in NYC with me. Marcus is simply the best and so is Jane. No matter what’s going on, they have the answer. Marcus always opens my eyes to see the beauty and greatness in myself, which we often oversee. He makes me believe in myself.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Be brave! Grind hard every single day. And have guts!!!!!

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Julia-M-Lang-JMLJournal-by-Whitney-Young-1

Follow Julia’s #GIRLBOSS journey on Twitter + Instagram

What's on your mind?

