#ImAGirlBoss: Christina Zayas

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Le-City-Kitty-Christina-Zayas-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-1

NAME: CHRISTINA ZAYAS
AGE: 32
CITY:
 NEW YORK
HOMETOWN: NEW YORK
INDUSTRY: FASHION
NOMINATED BY: CYNDI RAMIREZ
TWITTER: @LeCityKitty
INSTAGRAM: @LeCityKitty
BLOG: lecitykitty.com

Tell us what you do!

I am the founder and editor of fashion and beauty blog, Le City Kitty. I also work fulltime for NYLON Magazine as Socialyte’s ‘Chief Blogmother,’ where I manage our signed bloggers.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I attended The Art Institute of New York for Graphic Design.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

When I was a kid, I wanted to be a vampire. I still want to be a vampire.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I can honestly say I worked really hard to get where I am now. Putting in the work and being recognized for it got me a gig working with incredible people at an incredible company.

Any obstacles along the way?

Of course! It was mostly me getting in my own way, but getting to know myself through the years, and getting to the bottom of what I wanted to do helped clear a path for me to get to where I am today.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Le-City-Kitty-Christina-Zayas-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-2

Who is your idol?



Yikes! I don’t have one. I am inspired by a few women (Caroline De Maigret, Miroslava Duma, Phoebe Philo, Taylor Tomasi Hill and Tasya van Ree), but never idolize. I don’t believe in that.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Talent, dedication, and desire.

Where would you like to be in five years?

Married, traveling with my honey for work, and ahead of the game.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A “Girl Boss,” to me, is a tough cookie going after what she wants, without letting the small stuff get to her — or get in her way.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

I have an intense relationship with dude’s style. I prefer to dress masculine and let my lady aura just ride through that. I think it’s super sexy. If I do dress like a proper dolly, I typically deliver edginess.

IMG_5065

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

I have been rocking my Mansur Gavriel bucket bag to death. It’s definitely my favorite accessory right now.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Always and forever, my Anastasia Brow Kit. It keeps my brow game strong.

Go-to nail color?

Nude.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

Same. I am just about done reading it, and it has inspired me in so many ways. Sophia is a true badass. I love her!

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Whiskey, cigarettes, and Instagram.

033

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Ahh, hard question! I currently love a few — Icona Pop, Say Lou Lou, Allie X, and always Grimes.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

“All Me” by Drake makes me feel like a G!

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

There are two quotes from Sophia’s #GIRLBOSS book that I really dig. “No matter where you are in life, you’ll save a lot of time by not worrying too much about what other people think about you” and “Fortune favors the bold who gets shit done.”

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

“Don’t pick your nose in public.” -Mom

Advice to future girl bosses:

Don’t be a bitch. No one likes to work with a bitch.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-Le-City-Kitty-Christina-Zayas-by-Whitney-Leigh-Young-3

Follow Christina’s #GIRLBOSS journey on Twitter + Instagram

— 

Do YOU know a #GIRLBOSS? Nominate her! 

2 thoughts on “#ImAGirlBoss: Christina Zayas

  1. Pingback: #ImAGirlBoss: Julia Lang |

  2. Pingback: #ImAGirlBoss: Aurielle Sayeh |

What's on your mind?

