#ImAGirlBoss: Taylor Trudon

2Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Taylor-Trudon-HuffPostTeen-
NAME:
TAYLOR TRUDON
AGE: 25
CITY: 
BROOKLYN
HOMETOWN: EAST LYME, CT
INDUSTRY: ONLINE MEDIA 
TWITTER: @taylortrudon
INSTAGRAM: @taylortrudon
WEBSITE: huffingtonpost.com/teen

Tell us what you do!

I’m the editor of HuffPost Teen.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Yep! I studied journalism and women’s studies at the University of Connecticut.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

Growing up, I wanted to be *~famous~*. I’d practice my autograph in my Lisa Frank diary regularly.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

While researching scholarships in college, I stumbled upon a life-changing organization called New York Women in Communications, which supports and empowers professionals in communications. I applied to their scholarship program, and was named a NYWICI scholar in 2009, and later became the first-ever Hearst scholarship recipient in 2010. The Hearst scholarship, which I was awarded my junior year of college, landed me my dream internship at Seventeen magazine. At Seventeen, I had the amazing opportunity to interview Editor-in-Chief Ann Shoket for the magazine’s upcoming “Dream Bigger” issue. I took over her editor’s letter, and even got to do a photo shoot where she lent me her gorgeous Louboutins.

1Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Taylor-Trudon-HuffPostTeen-5

Back at college, following a magical summer in New York City, I continued to pursue journalism. I was the commentary editor of the UConn student newspaper, The Daily Campus, the college editor for Her Campus, and a blogger for The Huffington Post. Over my winter break senior year, I returned to Hearst to do a “winternship” for four weeks at O, The Oprah Magazine. (Yes, Oprah did call once, and I picked up the phone. No, I still haven’t recovered.)

The summer after I graduated, I landed my first job as a blog editor at The Huffington Post, where I edited and published thousands of blog posts, ranging from politics to entertainment pieces. About a year and a half later, the opportunity opened for me to join HuffPost Teen as an editor — and I’ve been there (in One Direction bliss) ever since!

Any obstacles along the way?

I think my biggest obstacle has been self-doubt. At some point in your career, I think everyone asks themselves, “Am I good at this? Is this what I’m supposed to be doing?” But the key is to remember that you got hired for a reason, and yes, you are good. It can be difficult to silence that voice in your head, but it’s important to know that you’re where you’re supposed to be (or at least on your way), and to trust that.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Taylor-Trudon-HuffPostTeen-

Who is your idol?

I definitely idolize smart, funny women like Lena Dunham, Amy Poehler, Mindy Kaling, Tina Fey, and Nora Ephron. When it comes to my more immediate circle, I find myself admiring the insanely talented editors I’ve worked with (both past and present) at HuffPost, like Liz Perle (who originally launched HuffPost Teen), Farah Miller, Christina Anderson, Lori Leibovich, and of course, Arianna Huffington. I’m also inspired daily by our hundreds of incredible teen bloggers who never cease to impress me.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Ambition. Passion. Authenticity.

Where would you like to be in five years?

Hopefully, I’ll have published a book by then, and will own an adorable French bulldog. I’d like to be happy and still hungry (both literally and career-wise). Ideally, I will have cable.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A “Girl Boss” is someone who isn’t afraid to go after what she wants. She gets shit done.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

I’m girly, but I like to be comfortable. I’m a big fan of oversized grandpa sweaters, Kurt Cobain-esque cardigans, and dresses. I also love flannel and layering in the winter. And I’m all about a bold red lip and power brows. I’d probably describe my personal style as “bohemian Snow White,” but without the singing woodland creatures trailing behind me.

1Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Taylor-Trudon-HuffPostTeen-

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

My mom’s Norwegian fox fur bandeau. My grandmother bought it for her from Bloomingdale’s in New York in the ’80s. I feel like a chic snow bunny whenever I wear it.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

ChapStick, hands down. Also, First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream. My skin is super sensitive, and gets really dry in the winter, so I basically slather this on my face. I also love Stila’s Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner for achieving the perfect cat-eye and Sephora’s Color Lip Last in Pure Red.

Go-to nail color?

Red.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

“Not That Kind of Girl” by Lena Dunham.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice? 

I like binge-watching really terrible reality TV, like “Keeping Up With the Kardashians.” #TeamKhloe

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Ryan Adams and Wilco are always in heavy rotation, but I’m really into Taylor Swift’s “1989,” as well as TV on the Radio’s “Seeds” at the moment.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

“On to the Next One” by Jay Z. And really anything sung by Stevie Nicks, because she’s a badass, and makes me feel all the feels.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“Don’t start a scene where two people are talking about jumping out of a plane. Start the scene having already jumped.” – Amy Poehler

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

I interviewed Ann Shoket, Editor-in-Chief of Seventeen magazine, last year as part of HuffPost Women’s “Making It Work” series. She told me that you should never feel “locked in,” or afraid to try something new. When you’re young, the sky’s the limit, so be fearless and take risks.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Don’t be afraid to ask for what you deserve and don’t trivialize your accomplishments (“imposter syndrome” is a real thing). Work hard and be kinder than necessary. Oh, and always take your makeup off before you go to bed.

1Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Taylor-Trudon-HuffPostTeen-7

Follow Taylor’s #GIRLBOSS journey on Twitter + Instagram!

One thought on “#ImAGirlBoss: Taylor Trudon

  1. Pingback: #ImAGirlBoss: Alexis Kleinman |

What's on your mind?

