#ImAGirlBoss: Lindsay Zir

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Lindsay-Zir-1

NAME: LINDSAY ZIR
CITY: WEST HOLLYWOOD 
HOMETOWN: SHERBORN, MASSACHUSETTS 
INDUSTRY: FASHION
NOMINATED BY: CHELSEA BRIGGS
TWITTER: @lindsayzir
INSTAGRAM: @lindsayzir
WEBSITE: lindsayzir.com

Tell us what you do!

I’m a Celebrity Stylist and Costume Designer. I help celebrities get ready for red carpet events and everyday folks get dressed for their lives. I also costume and style movies, music videos, and commercials. Pretty much everything wardrobe related in the entertainment industry!

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I went to New York University for Theater—both Tisch School of the Arts and Gallatin School of Individualized Study. My theater training was at the Atlantic Theater School (formerly PAW/Practical Aesthetics Workshop).

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I always knew that I wanted to perform. I was a ballet dancer from the age of four, so I’d hoped to be a professional ballerina. Then, I discovered theater, and realized I wanted to be an actress.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

By 2010, I’d been living and working in LA as an actress for ten years. Acting was great, but I’d always loved fashion, and felt compelled to explore that further. So, I applied to Parsons School of Design in New York, and was accepted. Not wanting to uproot my life in California, I declined Parsons and applied to FIDM here in LA. The day before my FIDM interview, I was chatting with my late friend, “Glee” actor Cory Monteith, about how I was more interested in styling vs. designing at that point. He suggested I style him for one of his upcoming premieres, so we gave it a go. His team liked what they saw, and asked me to style him again for something else. And thus birthed my career as a celebrity stylist. Two years later, I costume designed my first feature film, and absolutely fell in love with creating characters through clothing, and working with actors from a sartorial standpoint. Life is all about timing. I was lucky, and am grateful to have had a friend on a successful TV show. Cory opened a lot of doors for me and I’ve worked my tail off these past four years to keep my career constantly moving forward.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Lindsay-Zir-4

Any obstacles along the way?

Absolutely. Fashion obstacles usually consist of someone not being sample size (to borrow clothes from showrooms), or a celebrity not being the right demographic for a brand to loan their clothes to. Just because I work with a celebrity doesn’t mean I have access to everything out there. And, it can be very stressful when wardrobe options are limited because people won’t loan—nothing to do with having a good eye for style. Costume designing obstacles usually are budget and time-related. It’s not easy outfitting 16 people for $500 with two days of prep! One has to get creative.

Who is your idol?

I wouldn’t say I idolize them, but I have a healthy infatuation with the Olsen twins. I think they are incredible businesswomen with a terrific eye for style. They’ve built this super successful empire from such a young age, and seem to be very level-headed women. Elizabeth & James continues to be an absolute favorite of mine.

Three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

Confidence, determination, and problem-solving. I’ve always felt confident enough to go after what I wanted. I mean, what’s the worst that can happen? Someone says “No.” I’m not afraid of being told “No.” Because, I’ll just keep asking. In the same vein, one has to be determined to succeed, and never stop trying. And I think I’m pretty good at acknowledging limitations and obstacles, and finding creative ways to work through them, as opposed to fighting them.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Lindsay-Zir-5

Where would you like to be in five years?

I’d like to be doing exactly the same thing on a bigger level. Bigger budget studio movies, music videos for more commercial and mainstream artists, etc.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

To me, a “Girl Boss” is someone who owns her career. She doesn’t sit around waiting for things to happen; she takes charge and makes them happen…yesterday.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Unpredictable and chamelionesque. I dress according to how I feel and it’s always different. Some days I feel like channeling a 1940s film star with a red lip and a Veronica Lake wave. Other times, I’ll give myself a smoky eye and go rocker chic. My go to ensemble is an oversized t-shirt, blazer, and boyfriend jeans because it’s comfortable for work (running around pulling clothes or on set). I’m inspired by everything around me, and am always getting ideas for new looks. I once painted my apartment based on the palette in a Prada ad that I saw in Vogue. Look around—inspiration surrounds us!

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

I’m a boot girl–even in the summer. So, I’m continuing to have a great love affair with my many pairs of low-heeled ankle booties. They look so cute with jeans or dresses, and are really comfortable.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Lindsay-Zir-2

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Lip balm.

Go-to nail color?

OPI’s Lincoln Park After Dark. I’ve been wearing it for years. If I do ever switch it up, I’ll wear either OPI’s You Don’t Know Jacques or Chanel’s Particulière (for grey tones), or OPI’s Quarter of a Cent Cherry if I want a red pop.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

I read Wild by Cheryl Strayed last year when I really got back into camping, nature, and outdoor adventures. I’d heard about the Pacific Crest Trail before, so I was excited to dive in. She is a wonderful storyteller, and I really enjoyed her journey. I have such admiration for courageous solo travelers.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Doritos Munchies. So gross yet so good.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I’m a classic rock girl, but I do love pop music when I’m cleaning my house or on a long drive. My all-time favorite workout music is “Girl Talk.” My boyfriend has great taste in music, so whichever record he’s playing, or artist he’s chosen on Spotify, is fine by me.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

Most Kelly Clarkson songs make me feel like a boss. Something about the power in her voice…

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.” – Coco Chanel
“Style is knowing who you are, what you want to say, and not giving a damn.” –Orson Welles
“Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” –Mark Twain

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

Be nice to everyone. You never know who has the power to get you your next job. And, my mother always says that the key to life is ‘thank you’ notes. Gratitude goes a long way!

Advice to future Girl Bosses:

Network. Build relationships. Be punctual. Write thank you notes.

W.A.S.P. 2014

Follow Lindsay’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram

One thought on “#ImAGirlBoss: Lindsay Zir

  1. Pingback: #ImAGirlBoss: Jess Zaino |

What's on your mind?

