#ImAGirlBoss: Samantha Lim

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset
NAME: 
SAMANTHA LIM
AGE: 
29
CITY:NEW YORK
HOMETOWN: TERRE HAUTE, INDIANA 
INDUSTRY: FASHION EDITORIAL
NOMINATED BY: MICHELLE MADONNA
TWITTER: @iamsamlim
INSTAGRAM: @iamsamlim
WEBSITE: stylecaster.com

Tell us what you do!

I’m the Features & Branded Content Director at Stylecaster. I direct all of the original features, photoshoots, videos, and celebrity & influencer projects for StyleCaster.com and our beauty websites, DailyMakeover.com and BeautyHigh.com. I also run our Branded Content program, which is where brands and editorial meet, and we find creative ways to collaborate with advertisers. Oh, and I also run our weekly #StyleChat on Twitter (Wednesday’s from 3-4pm!).

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Vanderbilt University. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I wanted to be everything — I changed my mind every day!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I studied Communications in college, moved to New York to follow my friends, applied to every fashion job under the sun, and got an assistant role at a luxury fashion investment firm. I worked there for two years, and had very long hours. I didn’t want to seem like I wasn’t working (even when I had no work left) so I started blogging on the side. Eventually, a blog post about some industry secrets forced me to, um, “resign” from my position (all I can say is that it involved a notable Fashion Director, a very swanky party, and an Olsen twin), and I’ve been professionally talking too much on the internet ever since. From there, I became the Fashion Director of Lookbooks.com and the Editor-in-Chief of FashionIndie.com (which was sold to NYLON), and I ran my own consulting company doing digital strategy, social media, writing and styling for brands, start-ups, and magazines all around the world. In January, I came to StyleCaster to launch the Features Department. Since joining the team here, we’ve been acquired by SheKnows Media, merged with BlogHer, and now we are the #1 largest women’s lifestyle digital company in the world. Pretty exciting stuff.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Any obstacles along the way?

Every day — but I’m always up for a challenge!

Who is your idol?



Jennifer Lopez’s ability to never look old.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are:

Be resourceful. Be positive. Be fun.

Where would you like to be in five years?

Who knows! What fun is planning?

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

Bad Bitch.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Comfortable, stylish, anywhere anytime.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

Boots!

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Cocoa Butter.

Go-to nail color?

Dark grey.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

The Alchemist by Paolo Coelho — incredible.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Oh goodness. Reality TV, fast food, champagne, rap music, fast fashion, shopping apps, instagram, chocolate, dancing, makeup, shopping, vacations, selfies, hoarding, traveling… I’m not very well-behaved.

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I love going to the popular list on Hype Machine and just letting it go.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

“I Put a Spell on You”

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“Get up.”

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

My dad used to tell me I was his favorite daughter. I’m his only daughter, but I think it took me a while (longer than it should!) to realize that (I have two brothers). I think that it taught me to make everyone you are close to feel special and loved by you, and I try to do that to the people I’m close to.

Advice to future Girl Bosses:

Always say Yes, and if it makes you happy, just try it!

Recycled-Novelty-Samantha-Sam-Lim-StyleCaster-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-1

Follow Sam’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram!

Do you know a GIRLBOSS? Nominate her! 


What's on your mind?

