#ImAGirlBoss: Cyndi Ramirez

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Cyndi-Ramirez-Founder-Taste-The-Style-UseDAILE-4

NAME: CYNDI RAMIREZ
AGE: #ALMOST30
CITY: NEW YORK
HOMETOWN: QUEENS, NY 
INDUSTRY: BEAUTY + LIFESTYLE EDITORIAL
TWITTER: @cyndiramirez
INSTAGRAM: @cyndiramirez
BLOG: tastethestyle.com

Tell us what you do!

I’m the founder of Taste The Style, an online destination for the fashion & food-obsessed to read about rad happenings, and even radder people, in both worlds. I also just co-founded a new skincare product called DAILE, a youth-retaining moisturizer for the 20- and 30-something that wants to start preserving their youthful look now. In addition, I maintain an agency called The Eclective where I do influencer marketing, particularly with events.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I went to LIM College, but was never really the best student. I learned more from being in the workforce, so I dropped out — not once — but twice. I’m not proud of it, but my life decisions have worked out for me so far, therefore, I can’t fully regret it.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I was a child and teen model growing up, so I always dreamt of ending up in the entertainment world in some way, shape, or form. That didn’t really pan out for me, though. It’s a tough industry, and I was not talented enough as an actor… and I’m totally okay with that!

 

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Cyndi-Ramirez-Founder-Taste-The-Style-UseDAILE-5

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

How much time do you have? I did the fashion thing at a young age — retail, PR internships, and mostly, I just ended up uninspired and broke. I decided to work at restaurants/bars while I was in college and into my mid-20s. I started making some serious cash and that, of course, appealed to me, as did the people in the hospitality industry. They were fast-paced hustlers who knew how to hold their liquor. It was an awesome time, but I knew I didn’t want to be serving people my whole life. I needed to make a drastic change, so I applied to intern for a new company called Third Wave Fashion, a start-up consultancy where I basically spent all of my time learning about other businesses, while simultaneously helping my boss run hers. It was a huge learning curve, and I’m forever grateful for it. She made me her Brand & Business Development Manager after a few months — a title I actually created myself. It allowed me to really float between being creative and being business savvy. I thank her every day for the opportunity, because it gave me the skills to start my own businesses. Then, about a year ago, I co-founded The Eclective (the influencer agency) with my boyfriend Adam. He let me take the lead on it. I got us some amazing clients, one of the biggest being Jagermeister. Throughout everything, he was opening The Garret (a bar in the West Village– and a business I also work on frequently) and we were working nights to develop DAILE. Take all of this, while also running my little personal blog (Taste The Style) and turning it into a site with over 10 contributors. It’s been a busy year.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Cyndi-Ramirez-Founder-Taste-The-Style-UseDAILE-7

Any obstacles along the way?

Always. Still are. It’s mostly just me getting in the way, though. I combat self-doubt all the time. Luckily, I have an incredible boyfriend/business partner that gives me that boost of confidence I need whenever I’m feeling down or uninspired.

Who is your idol?

My mother. I get all of my entrepreneurial skills from her.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Hard work, generosity, and knowing what I want.

Where would you like to be in five years?

In a more cushy financial place, and I’d love to live a bi-coastal lifestyle. I’ll always be a New Yorker, but sometimes a girl needs some sunshine. LA treats me real well.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

Going after what you want, and not apologizing for it.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Cyndi-Ramirez-Founder-Taste-The-Style-UseDAILE-6

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Sometimes boyish, a little sexy, and sort of undefinable.

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

My oversized grandma cardigan… because, Fall.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

DAILE, of course. I apply it every morning before my Mac foundation, and I’ve never received more compliments on my skin in my life. I swear, I’m not making this up.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Cyndi-Ramirez-Founder-Taste-The-Style-UseDAILE-1

Go-to nail color?

Don’t have one. I love to switch shit up.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

#GIRLBOSS inspired me from a business standpoint, and Grace Coddington’s memoir from a creative standpoint.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

Bad rom-coms — especially if it stars JLo. That, and booze. Preferably together.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I live in the past when it comes to music. Though I love a ton of new artists, I tend to replay the same old albums. Right now, I have Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs on repeat. Also, Jessie J. I’m not a huge fan of her music (I’m not big on pop) but I’m a HUGE fan of hers. She is the holy grail of musician #girlbosses.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

My Song 5, HAIM. (Also, they’re one of the best bands I’ve seen live.)

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Cyndi-Ramirez-Founder-Taste-The-Style-UseDAILE-67

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.” – Alice Walker

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

A couple of years ago, before I started my own business, I received an email from someone I admire very much. She said I was great at my job, and was well ahead of my years (amongst other touching words.) She reminded me that it’s important to build my personal brand — that regardless of where I end up, whether it’s working for someone else or myself, that I should remember to put myself out there professionally. And so I did. Her name is Julie Fajgenbaum, and she’s a rockstar. Google her.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Don’t waste time working on something you’re not passionate about, even if you see monetary success. Your happiness and mental health is worth so much more. Also, be kind to everyone and try to be helpful to anyone you can be valuable to. This will come full circle at one point, I promise.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-Cyndi-Ramirez-Founder-Taste-The-Style-UseDAILE-6

Follow Cyndi’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram

Do YOU know a Girl Boss? Nominate her in the comments! And, HEY — if you share this article, be sure to use #ImAGirlBoss!

What's on your mind?

