#ImAGirlBoss: Samantha Chin

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Samantha-Sam-Chin-PR-Hospitality-Myriad-Group-3

NAME: SAMANTHA CHIN
CITY: NEW YORK
HOMETOWN: EDISON, NJ
INDUSTRY: PR + HOSPITALITY 
TWITTER: @samanthajchin
INSTAGRAM: @samanthachin
WEBSITE: thesamchin.com

Tell us what you do!

A whole lot – I handle PR and marketing for the Myriad Restaurant Group, which includes Nobu, Batard, and Tribeca Grill, among other great properties. It’s a dream come true getting to work with such legendary restaurants (and people). When I’m not at Myriad, I work with several clients in entertainment, fashion, and music on their PR needs. Finally, I produce and host events. One that I’m incredibly proud of is #HashbrownsAndHashtags, an initiative that brings together social media savvy, successful women from across all industries over a delicious brunch. It’s all about conversation and connection. I co-founded #HashbrownsAndHashtags with Scarlett Stack, Lee Tilghman, and Alex Machover, and we’re so proud of its growth. At the last event, we featured a panel of accomplished #GIRLBOSSes, and the feedback was incredible. You’re not a New Yorker without a few side hustles, you know?

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I went to Pace University for two years before transferring to Marymount Manhattan College, and graduated with a degree in Communications.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

Once I came to the conclusion that I couldn’t be a Power Ranger, I decided I wanted to work with people. I wasn’t sure how exactly, but I figured people would be involved. I haven’t completely given up on the Power Ranger thing, though.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

While I was in college, I did everything I possibly could to just learn. I wanted to absorb all that I could, and soak up tons of information. I interned every semester, always worked one or two part-time jobs, and didn’t get much sleep. I made a ton of contacts, and made sure to never burn any bridges. When I graduated, I worked at an entertainment PR firm and part-time at a restaurant (as I’d done all throughout school). The firm ended up not being the right fit, so I stuck with the restaurant, and realized how much I enjoy hospitality. I was fortunate enough to secure my current position with Myriad, which combines a lot of what I love, and I’ve been there ever since.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Samantha-Sam-Chin-PR-Hospitality-Myriad-Group-1

Any obstacles along the way?

One of the biggest obstacles has been balancing work life and personal life. I have the tendency to let work overshadow everything else, and not give myself “me time”. I also work in an industry that’s largely male-dominated, so that’s an obstacle I deal with on the daily.

Who is your idol?

Personally, my mother’s my idol. She’s the strongest, smartest person I know. Professionally, I find inspiration in so many people that it’s difficult to choose just one.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Perseverance, confidence, compassion.

Where would you like to be in five years?

I’d love to build a large enough client roster that I’d be able to work entirely for myself. There’s so much room for me to grow from now until then, so I’m feeling pretty good.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A woman who succeeds at what she does without sacrificing class and integrity.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Almost always all black with subtle pops of color.

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

There’s this amazing vintage leather moto jacket I bought a few weeks ago that I’ve worn nonstop. Leather weather’s in full effect.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Shiseido sunscreen!

Go-to nail color?

I’m always rocking Essie’s Really Red. Big advocate for red tips and red lips.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

I really enjoyed Eddie Huang’s Fresh Off the Boat. There aren’t many Asian-Americans that have permeated pop culture the way he has. Fresh Off the Boat is an entertaining look into his upbringing. The show’s being adapted into a television series, which I can’t wait to watch. I’m hopeful that it’ll do well, because that would be a huge step for the Asian-American community, having a primetime sitcom on broadcast TV with an Asian-American cast. I never had that when I was growing up.

Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-Samantha-Sam-Chin-PR-Hospitality-Myriad-Group-2

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

As much as I wish I could break up with carbs, I can’t. It’s impossible.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I’m seeing Stevie Wonder in concert at Madison Square Garden in a few weeks, which is a dream come true. I’ve been immersing myself in all-things-Stevie.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

Remy Ma – “Conceited”

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

Hustle until you no longer have to introduce yourself.

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

A friend told me that it’s important to not compare yourself to others too often. A lot of people my age get caught up in comparing themselves to others, whether it’s what they’re doing, what they have that you don’t, what they look like, etc. That’s just a distraction from what you have going on. Focus on yourself. Competition can be a great motivator, but it can also hurt more than it helps.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Do what you love. Be smart, be strong, and never settle.

Follow Samantha’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram


What's on your mind?

