#ImAGirlBoss: Alex Wehrley

Alex-Wehrley-TV-Host-Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-1
NAME:
ALEX WEHRLEY
AGE: 27
CITY: LOS ANGELES
 
HOMETOWN: MILWAUKEE, WI 
INDUSTRY: ENTERTAINMENT 
TWITTER: @AlexWehrley
INSTAGRAM: @AlexWehrley
WEBSITE: tearsandgiggles.com

Tell us what you do!

I am a freelance TV host for E! News Now, ABC Digital, and other media outlets. You can see me on the red carpet at the CMA Awards on Nov. 5th interviewing country artists. I also act, and made my big-screen debut in the movie Rudderless–out in theaters now.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Yes, I majored in Communication Arts at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I went back and forth between wanting to be an actress and a fashion designer.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I loved being in front of an audience from a young age, and always knew I wanted to be in the entertainment industry. At nine years old, I began modeling for Kohl’s. In high school, I was on my school’s dance team, and in a local dance company. When I was 21, I became Miss Wisconsin USA, and simultaneously had an internship at a local news station. This was around the time I decided to pursue a career in TV. My first full-time TV job was as a morning news anchor at the NBC affiliate in Rockford, IL. I also helped write, produce, shoot, and edit video. From there, I became a talk show host in Oklahoma City, and then went on to become a host of a nationally syndicated morning show called Eye Opener. During this time, I was a guest co-host with Nick Lachey on VH1’s Big Morning Buzz Live. I moved to Los Angeles this past summer where I am now both TV hosting and acting.

Alex-Wehrley-TV-Host-Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-4

Any obstacles along the way?

I believe we are our own biggest obstacle. Like everyone, I’ve dealt with self-doubt and limited thinking. There were times I thought my dreams were too big, and that only “other people” saw that kind of success. However, I’ve learned to shift my negative thinking and self-talk to possibility thinking and feeling confident. It’s not always easy, but with the right tools and support system, it can be done.

Who is your idol?

Oprah. I love how there is so much purpose behind what she does. It’s not easy to bring spirituality and life lessons into the living rooms of viewers through the medium of TV, but she’s obviously been successful at doing just that. She hasn’t just simply entertained people — she’s changed lives.

What  are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Discipline. Persistence. Passion. 

Where would you like to be in five years?

I’ll have my own show, be married, and probably have a child.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A girl who pursues her passion with confidence, discipline and innovation. She doesn’t allow others’ negative opinions get in the way of her and her goals, yet she remains humble, and treats others as equals and with respect. She’s not afraid to speak up for what she believes in, and she’s not too proud to admit when she’s wrong. She’s a work-in-progress who is constantly learning about herself and the world around her. Through this, she’s able to accomplish her dreams with ease.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

For work, I like bright-colored dresses that are trendy, chic, and a little sexy. I love a bold necklace or bracelet to go with it. In my personal life, I like to be casual and comfortable with a hint of bohemian. I love to add a pop accessory, like a fun scarf, cute shoes, or jewelry.

Alex-Wehrley-TV-Host-Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-2

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

A thick gold ring paired with thin Juliette rings.

Go-to nail color?

I love white in the summer and dark, nearly black in the winter.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron and Awareness by Anthony de Mello.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

I have to have something sweet every day, like a pastry or serving of ice cream. I always start my day with coffee, and I love wine on the weekends.

Alex-Wehrley-TV-Host-Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-3

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

I’m loving Kacey Musgraves and Miranda Lambert right now. They’re some serious #GirlBosses who aren’t afraid to go outside the parameters that traditional country music has given them. They seem down-to-earth, but aren’t afraid to embrace their flaws and edginess in their lyrics.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off” and Carrie Underwood and Miranda Lambert’s “Something Bad.”

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

I love everything from the poet Rumi. Here is one of his many great quotes: “Let yourself be drawn by the stronger pull of that which you truly love.”

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

My parents have always been great examples. They’re both entrepreneurs, and understand what it takes to be successful. My mom always told me there was no dream too big for me. My dad always encouraged me to follow my passion.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Become clear about what your passion is, and pursue it relentlessly. So often people blindly pursue things that won’t fulfill them, thinking it’s what they want, like money, fame, security or a title. Doing what makes you feel most alive will not only make you the happiest, it will also positively influence the lives around you. You won’t be perfect along the way. None of us are. Just enjoy the journey, and treat each moment as an opportunity to learn about yourself and the world around you.

Follow Alex’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram

Do YOU know a Girl Boss? Nominate her in the comments! And, HEY — if you share this article, be sure to use #ImAGirlBoss!

What's on your mind?

