#ImAGirlBoss: Laura Galvan

Recycled-Novelty-Laura-Rickii-Galvan-So-Last-Year-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-4

NAME: LAURA GALVAN 
AGE:21
CITY: NEW YORK, NY
HOMETOWN: LONG ISLAND, NY
INDUSTRY: FASHION
TWITTER: @solast_year
INSTAGRAM: @lauragalv
BLOG: so-last-year.com

Tell us what you do!

I run a personal style blog — so-last-year.com

Did you go to college? If so, where?

Fashion Institute of Technology. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

In 5th grade, I was convinced I was going to be a WNBA player (haha), but I’ve always had a love for clothing. After the short-lived basketball fantasy, my life was forever about fashion and clothes. 

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I grew up on Long Island, and then went away to a school in Maryland for a few semesters. I realized it was not for me, and that I needed to be around fashion. I moved to New York City, and the rest is still being written!

Recycled-Novelty-Laura-Rickii-Galvan-So-Last-Year-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-9

Any obstacles along the way?

Of course. It wouldn’t be a journey without obstacles. Right now, the biggest obstacle for me is continuing to push, and motivate myself. As a human being, some days you forget why you started something in the first place, but it is important to remember everything is part of my journey right now.

Who is your idol?

Rachel Zoe and Dianne Von Furstenberg.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

My spirituality, optimism, and passion.

Where would you like to be in five years?

Wow, in five years I will be 26. That’s weird to think about. So, at 26, I hope I will have met my soulmate, and will be in the midst of building my company.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

To me, a Girl Boss doesn’t take the easy way out. I have so many friends that just want to marry rich, and be done. It is not about relying on someone else for support. It is about finding your passion, and what makes you happy, so you can eventually build something great, and leave your mark. If you can’t find what it is that makes you want to wake up every morning, keep trying new things. To each their own!

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Unexpected, but relevant. My style is constantly changing with my mood. I go through different fashion phases regularly.

Recycled-Novelty-Laura-Rickii-Galvan-So-Last-Year-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-2

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

I am a jacket addict. Blazers, bombers, faux fur, long, short — I don’t care. I collect them, and I love them all. My go-to uniform recently has been black thigh-high boots over a pair of leggings with a long tank to my knees, and then switching out a different jacket each day of the week.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Liquid foundation!!!

Go-to nail color?

Red.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

I couldn’t agree more. #GIRLBOSS has been my favorite read since, I think, EVER. I am currently waiting for the release of DVFs new book The Women I Wanted To Be. I think it will have the same impact as #GIRLBOSS — if not more! 

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

I am not the best at scheduling my life. I find that things kind of work out best when I am winging it. I also need to start eating better. As I get older, I am learning your body is a machine, and you truly do need to fuel it with healthy foods, as opposed to what I eat daily (french fries, candy… the list goes on). 

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Lately, I’ve been listening to all of Kanye’s old albums. College Dropout, Late Registration, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, etc.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

There is a super underrated song by Nicki Minaj featuring Miley Cyrus called “Top Of The World.” I put it on whenever I doubt myself. I also love “Lift Off” by Beyonce and Kanye.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“If women wanted to shut this country down, all they have to do is not go to work, and not come home.”  I love this quote. Pharell said it in an interview with Oprah. It reminds me how powerful we are. 

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

I am obsessed with two of Oprah’s series called Master Class and Next Chapter. I always take away a piece from each person she features. I must have watched Jay-Z’s Master Class episode over 23 times. 

Advice to future Girl Bosses:

Be good to people, and help them when you can. Follow your instinct and your heart, because it will never steer you wrong. Also, stop worrying about what other people think or may say about you. It is just noise distracting you from your destiny.

Recycled-Novelty-Laura-Rickii-Galvan-So-Last-Year-ImAGirlBoss-GirlBoss-10

Follow Laura’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram!

Do YOU know a Girl Boss? Nominate her in the comments! And, HEY — if you share this article, be sure to use #ImAGirlBoss!

What's on your mind?

