#ImAGirlBoss: Grasie Mercedes

actress

NAME: GRASIE MERCEDES
CITY:LOS ANGELES
INDUSTRY: TV/FILM + FASHION
TWITTER: @grasiemercedes
INSTAGRAM: @grasiemercedes
BLOG: stylemegrasie.com

Tell us what you do! I’m an actress and TV host with a personal style blog called Style Me Grasie.

Did you go to college? If so, where? Yup! NYU. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”? Oh man, so many things! At first, I wanted to be a lawyer, then I wanted to work in finance like my parents (even though I had no idea what that meant), and then I wanted to be a reporter. I went to school for broadcast journalism, worked as a producer at MTV for three years after graduation, and then gave it all up to pursue acting and TV hosting, which is what I do now.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story! Oops, I think I just did in the last question! Ha! But I’ll continue the story. I moved to LA to pursue acting and hosting, and quickly (and luckily) landed commercial and hosting agents. Booked some national commercials and hosted a music show (that never aired) in my first few years. Then, I started styling on the side so I didn’t have to wait tables anymore, which is what a lot of actors do to supplement their income. It was the styling that kicked off my fashion blog, and what lead to lots of hosting gigs in that space. Now almost 10 years later, I’m a full-time slasher — an actress/TV host/fashion blogger, and it’s awesome!

Grasie-Mercedes-Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-3 Any obstacles along the way? There are always a ton of highs and lows when you work in entertainment, but I think that’s a good thing. Everyone thinks they want to be an actor, but when the going gets tough, the majority gives up. It’s what separates the lovers of the work from the fame seekers. You got to really love it and live for it, or otherwise don’t do it. If you have that mindset, the lows are fewer and farther between.

Who is your idol? 

 My mom. She’s truly my idol, and the woman I respect most in the world. With that said, there are definitely a number of women in entertainment that I admire for various reasons. Meryl Streep for her unbelievable honesty in everything she does. Alexa Chung for her ridiculously good style sense. Beyonce for being unstoppable, and Oprah and Ellen for making everyone feel great all the time.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are? I’m super organized, hardworking, and nice.

Where would you like to be in five years? On a hit TV show and a mom.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words. A girl or woman who’s taking charge of her own destiny; who’s going after all her dreams and aspirations without compromising on anything. Someone who’s getting it done!

Describe your style/fashion sense: Fun, colorful, comfy, interesting, yet simple.

Fav clothing item/accessory right now? Flat, patent leather booties from Dolce Vita. They go with everything, and are super comfortable, which I love!

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product? Red lipstick.

Grasie-Mercedes-Recycled-Novelty-ImAGirlBoss-GIRLBOSS-4

Go-to nail color? Clear these days. Boring, I know.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you? Hmm, I’m sad to admit I’m a terrible reader. I’m lucky if I read two books a year. I’m just so busy these days! But the last three books I read were all autobiographies of sorts from funny, successful women I admire — Tina Fey, Sarah Silverman and Mindy Kaling. I loved learning about their journeys, and they are all great reads.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice? Tequila. In-N-Out. Instagram.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now? I’m always into classics like Fleetwood Mac and Bruce Springsteen, but lately Pharrell and Beyonce’s latest albums have been on constant rotation.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss? FLAWLESS!!! Bow down bitches! Lol.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you? “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.” – Steve Jobs. AMEN! Go for your dreams, not the ones others place on you. It’s your life and it doesn’t last forever, so make the difference now.

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you? “No one else knows what they’re doing either.” – Ricky Gervais. I don’t know Ricky Gervais, nor did he give me that advice, but he was quoted as saying that’s the best advice he’s ever got, and I love it so much. I mean, it’s just perfect. When you feel insecure, unsure or just terrible at something, know that you’re not alone. We all have those moments! Just keep on keeping on!

Advice to future Girl Bosses: Work hard, be nice, and it will all pay off.

about2

Follow Grasie’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram!

Do YOU know a Girl Boss? Nominate her in the comments! And, HEY — if you share this article, be sure to use #ImAGirlBoss!


One thought on “#ImAGirlBoss: Grasie Mercedes

  1. Pingback: #ImAGirlBoss: Sazan Barzani |

What's on your mind?

