#ImAGirlBoss: Zoya Biglary

Recycled-Novelty-Zoya-Biglary-Girlboss-ImAGirlBoss-1
NAME:
 ZOYA BIGLARY
AGE: 24
CITY:
 WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA
INDUSTRY: SOCIAL ENTERPRISE 
TWITTER: @LSTN
INSTAGRAM: @ZoyaRoya
WEBSITE: LSTNheadphones.com

Tell us what you do!

I’m trying to change the world through the power of music via business development at LSTN Headphones.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

BA in Communications and Public Relations from California State University, Fullerton.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?

Writer and director.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I’ve always felt deeply attached to the idea of giving back, and making the world a slightly better place. I was fortunate enough to be the first employee to join an amazing start-up called LSTN Headphones. We sell headphones made from reclaimed wood, and donate proceeds to buy hearing aids for people in need around the world through Starkey Hearing Foundation. We’re less than two years old, but have already helped over 15,000 people hear for the first time, or the first time in a very long time.
My official title is “Business Development Manager,” but I wear a dozen hats including PR, marketing, brand development, business operations, and directing a team of rockstar college campus reps across the nation. I also make a lot of “not!” jokes around the office, because I’m an adult.

Recycled-Novelty-Zoya-Biglary-Girlboss-ImAGirlBoss-3
Any obstacles along the way?

Working at a start-up — especially a charitable start-up — takes A LOT of dedication and patience.

Who is your idol?



Is it cliché to say my parents? I don’t care. My parents are my idols. They moved to the U.S. from Iran as young adults with literally nothing. They worked incredibly hard and made major sacrifices to build a comfortable life for their family.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

I’d like to think my witty sense of humor is my greatest characteristic. I’m also confident and persistent. And SO modest.

Where would you like to be in five years?

Traveling the world with LSTN, spreading positive energy, and helping people hear music and the sound of their family members’ voices.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

I think a true #girlboss doesn’t consider herself a “girl” boss but rather just a boss. It’s unfortunate that in this day and age, we still have young women who aren’t confident enough to consider themselves just as able and impactful as their male counterparts.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Black on black with black accessories.

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

Permanent obsession with my Woolrich large-brimmed hats.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

SPF 70 Neutrogena sunscreen. Protect your face from sun damage, and you won’t need to depend on heavy make up for the rest of your life! #justsayin

Go-to nail color?

Usually none. I can’t stand chipped nail polish.

Recycled-Novelty-Zoya-Biglary-Girlboss-ImAGirlBoss-2

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

#GIRLBOSS is one of the best books I’ve read lately. I love how genuinely raw Sophia Amoruso is, and how hard she worked for years before she saw any real reward. There’s an alarmingly desperate need for instant gratification with my generation. Anything worth having takes time and effort. I also read a lot of poetry (Rumi is my favorite), because it inspires the soul, which has a domino effect on everything else.

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice?

CARBS. ALL OF THE CARBS.

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Chet Faker.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss?

Supermassive Black Hole by Muse

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“Be humble, for you are made of Earth. Be noble, for you are made of stars.”

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

“You your own best thing” is my favorite line from the novel Beloved. Toni Morrison wrote it, so she indirectly gave me the advice.

Advice to future girl bosses:

Get involved in something that matters. Follow your passion and then find a way to make it impact your community, country or entire planet. Also, get ready to roll up your sleeves.

Follow Zoya’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram!

Do YOU know a Girl Boss? Nominate her in the comments! And, HEY — if you share this article, be sure to use #ImAGirlBoss!

2 thoughts on “#ImAGirlBoss: Zoya Biglary

  1. Pingback: FOR THE RECORD: A Reflection on My Personal and Professional Trials and Triumphs of 2014 |

What's on your mind?

