#ImAGirlBoss: Ashley Fultz

Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Ashley-Fultz-The-Style-Editrix-1
NAME: 
ASHLEY FULTZ
CITY:
 LOS ANGELES
INDUSTRY: FASHION 
TWITTER: @thestyleeditrix
INSTAGRAM: @thestyleeditrix
BLOG: TheStyleEditrix.com

Tell us what you do!

I’m a fashion and lifestyle blogger based in Los Angeles. I am the former Fashion and Lifestyle Producer for E! News. I cover fashion, beauty, and travel through personal style posts, editorial posts, and original videos.

Did you go to college? If so, where?

I graduated with a BA in Communication/Journalism from the University of Louisville. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”? 

At a very early age, I wanted to be on TV, interview celebrities, and talk about fashion.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story!

I majored in journalism, and took TV production classes in college, and then moved to LA my junior year in order to try and land an internship at E! Entertainment. I did land an internship for E! True Hollywood Story, and was so excited! From there, I volunteered to go on more shoots for different shows and departments, and eventually got to intern for Fashion Police. I stayed in touch with the HR department when I had to go back to UofL to finish my senior year, and the week of graduation, they reached out asking me to come interview for an assistant job in E! News for the Executive Producer. I got it, and it was amazing. From there, I worked my way up the ladder for six and a half years at E!. The last two and a half years, I was the Fashion Producer, which was a dream job. I got to cover New York Fashion Week, The Met Gala, and so many other amazing events. I decided to go on my own a little over a year ago, and start a new blog (I had dabbled in a few blogs in the past), and have never looked back. I love waking up to endless opportunities, and writing and covering fashion + beauty the way I want to, and being my own boss. I wouldn’t have it any other way, but don’t get me wrong — a lot of hard work is involved, and there really is no such thing as a vacation anymore when you are on your own!

Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Ashley-Fultz-The-Style-Editrix-3

Any obstacles along the way?

There were plenty of obstacles along the way. Sometimes reporting is not nice, and not rewarding in the least. You often feel like you are prying and crossing personal boundaries. Also, I always wanted to be in front of the camera, but was never given the opportunity until I started my own blog. Stress is another big struggle – I always felt a tremendous amount of stress and pressure to do more and work harder, even with my already crazy schedule. I still feel that way, but now I try to have a better work/life balance.

Who is your idol?

I would say Oprah and my mom. They are both inspirational women who work extremely hard and are great role models. My mom really paved the way for my present life and future, because she always told me I could be whatever I wanted, and to shoot for the stars. Oprah has always been someone in the field of journalism I have had the utmost respect for. She is such an incredible interviewer and grounded person.

What are three personal traits/qualities that helped you get to where you are?

Passion, hard work, and perseverance.

Where would you like to be in five years?

A mom and wife for sure. The rest is something I am still dreaming about. I feel like the sky is the limit, and I know good things are in store for me if I keep working hard.

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

A girl who is living out her dreams, and doing what she loves on her own terms.

Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Ashley-Fultz-The-Style-Editrix-2
Describe your style/fashion sense:

I always say casual chic or classic with a twist!

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

My new mini Celine bag.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil.

Go-to nail color?

Marshmallow by Essie.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

Barbara Walters’ Memoir — Audition

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice? (i.e. Chocolate, tequila, Justin Bieber, etc.)

Diet coke!

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Beyonce.

Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Ashley-Fultz-The-Style-Editrix-4
What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss? 

“Partition” by Beyonce.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

“In any given moment, we have two options: to step forward into growth or step back into safety.” –Abraham Maslow

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

Don’t be afraid to ask for what you want. If you don’t ask you’ll never know. My mom probably gave me that advice.

Advice to future Girl Bosses:

You can achieve anything if you work hard enough for it, and want it bad enough.

Follow Ashley’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram

Do YOU know a Girl Boss? Nominate her in the comments! And, HEY — if you share this article, be sure to use #ImAGirlBoss!

ImAGirlBoss-new-logo

What's on your mind?

