#ImAGirlBoss: Asha Dahya

Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Series-Asha-Dahya-1

NAME: ASHA DAHYA
AGE: 31
CITY:
 LOS ANGELES
INDUSTRY: TV + MEDIA
TWEET HER: @ashadahya
INSTA LOVE: @girltalkhq
WEBSITE: girltalkhq.com

What do you do?!

I’m a host and a blogger.

Did you go to college?

Yes. I have a BA with a double major in Journalism and Film Studies from Griffith University in Australia. 

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you “grew up”?  

For some reason, I always wanted to be an actress. I loved the idea of being a character, and traveling to exotic, cool locations to film a major movie.

How did you get to where you are now? Tell us your story! 

Well, the acting thing definitely didn’t work out… But that was mainly because once I started taking classes, doing extra work, and working on short films, there were things I just didn’t want to do such as kiss another person on screen, or have sex. I know, I’m probably prudish, but hey — that’s just me! So instead, I fell into hosting in my last year of college in Australia, landing a national TV show in 2003. From there, it snowballed into many other jobs in Australia on networks such as the Disney Channel, MTV, FOX, and Nine Network Australia. I moved to LA in 2008, and for the past six years, I have worked on shows — both on-air and online — for Nickelodeon, MSN, TV Guide Network, ABC, Myspace, and a few more. I started my blog, GirltalkHQ.com, in 2012 after realizing I wanted a space online where I could find positive, inspiring news stories for women everyday. Rather than waiting for someone else to create it, I decided to do it myself and see where it goes. Two years later, I have a loyal readership, have been involved in hosting events and workshops for young women, served as a keynote speaker at a major event for International Women’s Day, and was even featured in a BBC news story about feminism earlier this year! I have also just signed my first 2 deals for my blog, which are brand partnerships that will amplify the content I have to a much bigger audience.

Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Series-Asha-Dahya-3

Any obstacles along the way?

Plenty — money and time being the biggest ones! Whenever I have been busy on a hosting or production job, I haven’t had much time to blog. Whenever I have been blogging a lot and putting energy into making my brand bigger and better, it is usually when I haven’t been working. It is a catch-22, but that is why I am very focused on making my blog my main source of income, which I believe is possible. I wouldn’t really count negativity as an obstacle, as it is part and parcel of being in the entertainment biz, and putting your stuff out there publicly online. The only human obstacle I have ever come up against is myself, and being my own boss has taught me many valuable lessons about how being an empowered woman can take me further in life than I ever imagined.

Who is your idol? 



I don’t necessarily have just one. Tyra Banks, Oprah Winfrey, Sarah Blakely (creator of Spanx), Hillary Clinton, Lucy Flores, JK Rowling, Sophia Amoruso, Amanda De Cadanet, and Arianna Huffington are just a few women whose journeys I greatly admire, because they make their own path, and they don’t take “No” for an answer.

What are three personal traits/qualities that have helped you get to where you are?

Persistence, determination, and positivity. 

Where would you like to be in five years?

Earning a living from GTHQ, hosting my own show, and traveling around the world. I would also like to have a baby and own a house!

Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Series-Asha-Dahya-2

Define “Girl Boss” in your own words.

Someone who doesn’t give up, makes her own path in life, doesn’t take “No” for an answer, defies expectations, remains calm despite the odds, and who doesn’t compromise, or lose herself for society’s expectations.

Describe your style/fashion sense:

Casual and comfy.

Fav clothing item/accessory right now?

I love my new 50s style bikini bathing suit from Topshop. I bought it for a bargain ($24), and wore it on my recent summer vacation to Italy.

What’s your can’t-live-without beauty product?

My home-made lotion: Vitamin C powder mixed with a bit of Bio oil and rosehip oil. It does wonders for my skin! My boyfriend’s aunt gave me the recipe a couple of years ago, and I use it twice a day.

Go-to nail color?

Orange-red.

Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS inspired me. What book has inspired you?

Ditto! I recently read it, and it ignited a fire inside me to keep going with my passion. Reading about Sophia’s story made me realize that just because something doesn’t exist yet in an industry or market, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try anyway. I also just read a book by Rwandan genocide survivor Immaculee Llibagiza, whose story was filled with heartbreak and terror. It brought back to mind all those stories I remember seeing on the news in the early 1990s, and why fighting for women’s rights is something very very important. Interestingly enough, after the genocide, the women were left to rebuild the country, and today Rwanda is the country with the highest percentage of females in government in the world (64%). By comparison, the US has 18%, and Rwanda is a 3rd world country. It’s time for a female president here!


Recycled-Novelty-Girl-Boss-Asha-Dahya-6

No Girl Boss is perfect. What’s your vice? (i.e. Chocolate, tequila, Justin Bieber, etc.)

Chocolate, white wine, pale ale beer, and pasta!

Which artist/band/DJ are you really into right now?

Sia’s new album has me hooked.

What song makes you feel like a Girl Boss? (i.e. Bang Bang, Girl on Fire, Flawless, etc.)

Beyonce’s ‘Girls’. Gets me every time.

What’s a quote that inspires/motivates you?

Something that has inspired me recently is the notion that when you are vulnerable, you empower someone else — meaning, the more we are willing to give of ourselves, we never know how our story can impact another person’s life.

Best advice you’ve ever received? And who gave it to you?

Do your best, and let God do the rest. My parents would always say that to me growing up, and for me, that is a great reminder that doing my best IS always enough, and that I have someone looking out for me.

Advice to future Girl Bosses:

Don’t give up! Don’t change for anyone else. Find your passion and lead with that. Use every experience in your life as fuel and as motivation to lead you to your purpose. Be unique, even if it means you are weird.

Follow Asha’s Girl Boss journey on Twitter + Instagram

Do YOU know a Girl Boss? Nominate her in the comments! And, HEY — if you share this article, be sure to use #ImAGirlBoss!

ImAGirlBoss-new-logo

3 thoughts on “#ImAGirlBoss: Asha Dahya

  1. Pingback: Our Feature In The #ImaGirlBoss Series On Recycled Novelty Website - GirlTalkHQ

  2. Pingback: FOR THE RECORD: A Reflection on My Personal and Professional Trials and Triumphs of 2014 |

  3. Pingback: #ImAGirlBoss: Sarah Moshman |

What's on your mind?

